“Secretly Smitten” by Colleen Coble, Kristen Billerbeck, Diann Hunt & Denise Hunter

Standard
Buy on Amazon.com!

Buy on Amazon.com!

Ahhhh, Smitten.  Let’s journey back, shall we?  Last year, I had the pleasure of reading and reviewing the first novel by the four writing buddies, so I jumped at the chance to do it again this year with the second in the series, Secretly Smitten.  And I finished it in two days flat…  On days that I worked a full 8 hours.  Yeah, it’s good.

Secretly Smitten is a breath of fresh air.  I had been in a rut of boring novels (sad, but true) and Secretly Smitten just made my day (actually, two days).  It’s light, fun and romantic reading that you can break off in four easy sections.  Secretly Smitten doesn’t necessarily have a central theme like the first book did (trying to turn Smitten into the “Romance Capital of the World”), but it does have a story line that streams through the background of all four novellas.  I have to say my favorite story is the first, between Tess and Ryan.  I could have read an entire novel about them, but alas, it was only about 80 pages.

So, should you read Secretly Smitten?  YES, you should.  Do you need to read them in order?  Not necessarily.  Between the two books (8 novellas total) there isn’t a ton of interaction between the characters of Smitten and Secretly Smitten.  However, if you hate finding out if a couple winds up together before you’ve had a chance to read the novel, then DO read Smitten first.  Otherwise, you’ll encounter some “spoilers” in Secretly Smitten.  The characters from the first book do come back into the second, although they do not play a major role.  I’m SO looking forward to January 2014 when Return to Smitten (Book 3) hits the shelves!

I reviewed Secretly Smitten for Thomas Nelson through their blogger program, BookSneeze.  I received the book for free in exchange for my honest opinion.  A positive review was not required, but freely given after reviewing this book.  It’s also worth noting that I woke up at 1:00 a.m. in the morning to request this book.  It was totally worth it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

