“Cherished” by Kim Cash Tate

Standard

I received “Cherished” from Thomas Nelson’s Book Blogging program called BookSneeze.  They gave me a free copy of the book for my honest review.

Honestly, I had a hard time getting into this book. Maybe it’s because I had a huge stack of other unread books glaring at me, or maybe the book just didn’t grab me, but it’s my honest opinion.  Now, I do have to say one thing:  I would like a “warning” when the book is second in a series. I hate it when I snuggle down to start a book, only to find out I missed the first one in the series.  It completely puts a bad taste in my mouth when I realize I’ve already missed a lot of the backstory.

I do agree with another reviewer when she says “The only thing that threw me a bit from time to time was some of the conversational language. Slang words and phrases (that are quite natural when spoken) seemed a bit forced when written in the dialogue.”   Even though I’m sure it’s true to the characters, I do find that when author’s use “slang” for their character’s speech, it throws off the reader who is not necessarily familiar with that type of slang.  I’ve had the same issue with Janette Oke’s “Love Comes Softly” text.

Leave a Reply

