Setting the cruise control of my life….

Standard

As I was driving on I-65 to Indianapolis this weekend from Lexington, KY, I found myself in constant need of my cruise control.  I would drive, glance at my dashboard, let out a “Whoops!” and bring my speed back down to (barely) legal and hit cruise control.  Then I would go on my merry way, only to find that a few minutes later I’m back up to speeding and I have to bring myself back down on cruise.  I repeated this a few times until I just got frustrated with my lead foot.  Finally, I decided that I could trust myself enough to stay within the limit.  I didn’t need that silly control button telling me how to drive.  But constantly, like clockwork, I would find myself speeding and breaking the law.

Life is a lot like cruise control (or lack thereof), isn’t it?  We think we can take care of ourselves, that we don’t need some sort of harness on our life, our emotions, our free will.  But we do.  We all do.

Now let me tell you, I am a very controlled person.  I don’t like surprises.  I like to know what I’m getting for my birthday (I hand out lists with pictures).  When I go on vacation, I like to plan where I’m going to eat, what I’m going to do, how I’m going to get there and if there are any possible delays.  I like things to be done my way because it’s the right way.  Don’t believe me?  Let me prove it to you.  Some people dub that “control-freak”.  I call it “organized, with a side of crazy”.

All this craziness aside, I KNOW that I need to let the controlling part of my life go.  Like cruise control, what has my controlling need ever gotten me?  Besides exactly what I planned for?  Sometimes it’s gotten me a speeding ticket.  But most of the time, it’s gotten me absolutely NOTHING.  I had the opportunity to attend Women of Faith’s “Imagine” tour this last weekend.  The entire weekend, I constantly felt like God was knocking on the door of my heart saying “Let Me in.  Let Me take control of your life.”  This was not easy for me.  This has NEVER been easy for me.  Just ask my husband.

(Pardon my pictures… They were taken with my phone!)

The speakers at Women of Faith spoke on a variety of different topics & issues, but one theme could be found at the center of all the messages:  When are you going to give up, let go and LET GOD?

My most favorite speaker was Women of Faith’s newest speaker, Angie Smith.  Angie, with her spunk and hilarity, poured her heart out.  She talked a lot about fear, which is something I think everyone struggles with at some point in their life.  I know that I do.  I find that my fear is constantly holding me back, and most of the time, I find that I choose to live in fear rather than to embrace life by letting God have control of my heart.  I want this to change.  I NEED this to change in my life.

After my Women of Faith weekend, I feel like I’ve taken the first step to getting that change in my life.  If you have the opportunity to go, GO!   The speakers will challenge you, the worship will liven your spirits, your heart will be renewed and maybe, just maybe, you’ll be willing to take your lead foot off of the gas pedal and let God guide you through your life.

~Erin

I was provided two (2) tickets to the Indianapolis Women of Faith event courtesy of Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for two blog posts regarding the event. All opinions and images in this post are my own.  Thank you to Thomas Nelson for the AWESOME seats!  We were able to “high-five” the speakers!  Thank you to my good friend, Amy, for going with me!

One response »

Leave a Reply

