“The Lady of Bolton Hill” by Elizabeth Camden

Standard

I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review and opinion.

Okay, I did it.  I did the awful thing that I’m sure author’s HATE.  I judged a book by its cover.  But look at the cover of this book!  Isn’t it gorgeous?  And isn’t that the point of a gorgeous book cover?

Alright, fabulous cover aside, Elizabeth Camden’s debut novel “The Lady of Bolton Hill” was a wonderful story about a love rekindled between two childhood friends.   Once on opposite ends of the social classes, Clara Endicott and Daniel Tremain find themselves in the same circle of society as adults, much to the dismay of Clara’s father, who never approved of Daniel as a suitable match for his daughter.

Initially drawn to each other through their love of piano, Clara and Daniel are inseparable as young teenagers.  Clara’s father decides the best thing to do for Clara is to send her way from the states to London to live with her aunt.  Through an unfortunate series of events, Clara finds herself back in Baltimore years later and encounters her former friend, Daniel Tremain.  Daniel, once at the bottom of all social classes, has become an industrial giant that comes with an equal sized temper. Clara and Daniel find the smoothness of their friendship easily, but now, add adult emotions and longing to the mix, and it’s just a recipe for heartache.

“The Lady of Bolton Hill” kept me captivated from the beginning.  While I read a lot of historical fiction, I have not read a lot of 19th century New England, so it was a refreshing change.  I’m giving it four stars because I did feel like Clara and Daniel’s romance could have been a little bit more developed and deep.  Regardless, this is a story not to be missed.  I look forward to Camden’s future novels!

Leave a Reply

