“Beyond All Measure” by Dorothy Love

Standard

I received this book free through Thomas Nelson’s Blogger Review program.

I read a lot of Christian fiction.  A LOT.   And I’m picky.  But I have to say that I really enjoyed Dorothy Love’s debut novel “Beyond All Measure”.  I’m always a little leery when I pick up a novel by a new artist, but Dorothy Love did a fine job with her first novel and I’m looking forward to the next in the Hickory Ridge series.

Ada Wentworth finds herself orphaned, penniless & disengaged.  With no means to provide for herself in her native Boston, she answers an ad in the paper for a female companion needed in the South.    Hickory Ridge, Tennessee is recovering and rebuilding from the Civil War, amid the racial tensions that come about with the influx of the Ku Klux Klan.   As a Yankee, Ada finds herself at odds with some of the people at Hickory Ridge.  She reaches out to help a rejected orphan mulatto girl and in doing so, it puts her life in danger.

Wyatt Caldwell is a hard-working, trustworthy, peacemaking man who settles in Hickory Ridge after the War to assist his ailing aunt and start a lumber mill business.  He employs Miss Wentworth to take on the charge of his cantankerous aunt, but through the months he finds himself unexplainably drawn to her.  Ada can’t help but feel the same for Wyatt, but she holds back because of the humiliating rejection her former fiancé put her through a year earlier.   How can she trust another man with her heart?

I do feel like the author could have expanded more in some certain areas of the book, and I feel like the book could have been about 50 pages longer to add more depth to the characters.  But regardless,  “Beyond All Measure” will keep you captivated and turning the pages.  I really enjoyed this novel and I look forward to more from Dorothy Love.

Leave a Reply

