“A Billion Reasons Why” – Kristen Billerbeck

Standard

“A Billion Reasons Why” is another fine read from Kristin Billerbeck.  I received this novel free to review from Thomas Nelson through their Book Blogging program, call BookSneeze.

Kristin Billerbeck is the master of Christian chick-lit, and this novel proves again why.   I do have to say that this is not my favorite novel by Billerbeck by any means.  If you’ve read her novels before, don’t expect something equivalent to the Ashley Stockingdale novels, but I guarantee that you will enjoy this book.

The novel centers around two characters: fiery Katie McKenna and confident Luc DeForges.  After a terrible breakup that leaves Katie scarred and defensive, they part ways for eight years, only to be reunited again after Katie is asked to sing at Luc’s younger brother’s wedding.  Katie has moved on with her life, of which she thinks is for the better, and is on the brink of getting engaged to her the solid, predictable and dependable Dexter.   At that moment, Luc walks back into her life, and with that, Katie faces a rollercoaster of emotions, memories and an undeniable truth.

There are two things that I didn’t care for with this novel was that I felt a little in the dark with some of the events.  Number one: I’m not a fan of movies made back in the ‘40’s, so all of the references to that nostalgia were lost on me.   That is not the fault of the author, but mine.  Number two: There was a lot of back story between Katie and Luc that was confusing and sometimes difficult to sort out.  I was almost worried that I somehow had missed a prequel to this novel, but I know that I hadn’t.  This created some confusion for the first half of the novel, but it smoothed out towards the end.

Overall, I really did enjoy this book.  I tend to get really connected to my books, and with my favorites, I reread them constantly.  It’s like visiting old friends.  I’m not sure if I’ll be doing it with this book.

Leave a Reply

